IEEE/ASME Best Mechatronics Paper Award

Established in 2008 and jointly administered by the co-sponsors IEEE-IES, IEE-RAS, ASME-DSCD, the purpose of this award is to recognize the best refereed paper published in the volume year of the IEEE/ASME Transactions on Mechatronics. (See Past Award Winners)

 Please email your nomination to TMech Office before March 15.


The award shall consist of a printed certificate, a plaque, and a $1,000 cash award.


Publication of an original paper in the IEEE Transactions on Mechatronics in the previous calendar year; the authors need not be a member of IEEE or ASME.

Basis for Judging

Quality, originality, utility, timeliness, clarity of presentation.

Nominee Solicitation

Nominations solicited by TMech Editor-in-Chief from the Editorial Board, guest Editors, authors, and readership (through published notice).

Selection Process

Nominations screened and reduced to a short list by a Nomination Committee of the Editorial Board and submitted to the Selection Committee for final selection. ( See Two-level Selection Process for more details)


The award generally will be made annually, but in any particular year may be withheld if no suitable paper is decided upon.  The award can be given only once in each calendar year.


The award shall be presented to the winner by the EIC of the T-Mech at the banquet of the annual IEEE/ASME International Conference on Advanced Intelligent Mechatronics (AIM). 


Two-level Selection Process


Nominations are made by Technical Editors. Self-nominations are encouraged.


Selection Committee: 

Appointed by the Chair of the Management Committee, the committee will consist of three or voting affiliates. Members of the Selection Committee of the Best Mechatronics Paper Award are not eligible for the award.


Evaluation Criteria:

Professional Merit



(a) Creativity and originality, as reflected in new insights, interpretations, facts, innovations, methods, applications, etc. (stimulating, informative, enlightening, etc.);

(b) Scientific and professional quality of the research, review, development work, methods of inquiry, etc. (competent, valid, replicable, etc.); and

(c) Scholarship embodied in the presentation, explanations, interpretations, and discussions (researched, documented, balanced, critical, etc.).



(a) Societal or scientific/technical significance of the topic or problem investigated or expounded (universality, urgency, impact, etc.);

(b) Usefulness of the paper to practicing information professionals (applicability, timeliness, scope, problem-solving value, etc.); and

(c)  Relevance of the topic or problem to the interests of Mechatronics.

Presentation Quality (20%)

(a) Readability, effective organization and presentation of concepts, facts, arguments, etc. (structure, logic, persuasiveness, etc.);

(b) Use of clear, concise, comprehensible, and jargon-free language (ease and pleasure of reading); and

(c) Adherence to "Instructions for Contributors" found in the IEEE/ASME Transactions Mechatronics for format, graphics, citations, etc.





Nomination Committee provides a list of finalists to the Chair of Selection Committee along with nominating and supporting letters. A committee member may state that he/she is in favor of not giving the award in the current year.


Independent from the Editorial Board, the Selection Committee ranks the papers judged by the above evaluation criteria. The Selection Chair compiles an aggregated score for each nominated paper (with a score of five for the top ranked, four for the second ranked, etc.) from the ranked lists; the paper receiving the highest score is selected as the winner.  In case of a tie, the two highest scoring papers shall be re-evaluated by Selection Committee members to determine the winning paper.

Decision/ Citation

The Selection Chair shall communicate the Committee's decision to the Chair of the management Committee and the EIC of the T-Mech, along with a statement of contribution for publicizing  the award.


The EIC Office shall notify the winner the decision of the Selection Committee, and the need to attend the Award presentation; and arrange for the certificate/check to be available at the Award presentation.



The award shall be publicized through the T-Mech web-site, the T-Mech, and the newsletters of the co-sponsoring society with which the winner is affiliated.  In addition, press releases may be sent to the winner's employer suggested by the winner. Publicity is the responsibility of the EIC Office.

Return to Top

Past Winners

2013 Winner: 

Satoshi Ueki, Haruhisa Kawasaki, Satoshi Ito, Yutaka Nishimoto, Motoyuki Abe, Takaaki Aoki, Yasuhiko Ishigure, Takeo Ojika, and Tetsuya Mouri, "Development of a Hand-Assist Robot With Multi-Degrees-of-Freedom for Rehabilitation Therapy," IEEE/ASME Transactions on Mechatronics, Volume 17, Issue 1, February 2012, Pages: 136-146.

For the innovative mechatronic design of a self-directed rehabilitation system to improve the quality of life of stroke victims.


2012 Winner: 

Barbara Mazzolai, Alessio Mondini, Paolo Corradi, Cecilia Laschi, Virgilio Mattoli, Edoardo Sinibaldi, and Paolo Dario, "A Miniaturized Mechatronic System Inspired by Plant Roots for Soil Exploration," IEEE/ASME Transactions on Mechatronics, Volume 16, Issue 2, April 2011, Pages: 201-212.

The paper is the result of a bio-inspired research creatively combining different skills (chemistry for the actuator, mechanics and control for the gravitropism and hydrotropism, and electronics) with its multidisciplinary novelty well proven by experimental evidence.


2011 Winner: 

Tin Lun Lam, Huihuan Qian and Yangsheng Xu, "Omnidirectional Steering Interface and Control for a Four-Wheel Independent Steering Vehicle," IEEE/ASME Transactions on Mechatronics, Volume 15, Issue 3, June 2010, Pages: 329-338.

for the contributions in innovative design, prototyping and optimization of a machine with megaspeed (1,000,000 r/min) operation capability for emerging applications in power generation, machining, and turbo compressor systems.

2010 Winner: 

Christof Zwyssig, Johann W. Kolar and Simon D. Round, "Megaspeed Drive Systems: Pushing Beyond 1 Million r/min," IEEE/ASME Transactions on Mechatronics, Volume 14, Issue 5, October 2009, Pages: 564-574.

for the contributions in innovative design, prototyping and optimization of a machine with megaspeed (1,000,000 r/min) operation capability for emerging applications in power generation, machining, and turbo compressor systems.

2009 Winner: 

Nabil Zemiti,  Ivan Bricault, Céline Fouard, Bénédicte Sanchez and  Philippe Cinquin, "LPR:  A CT and MR-Compatible Puncture Robot to Enhance Accuracy and Safety of Image-Guided Interventions," IEEE/ASME Transactions on Mechatronics, Volume 13, Issue 3, June 2008, Pages: 306-315.

for the contributions in  innovative and comprehensive development of mechatronics system by combining a CT and MR-compatible puncture robot to enhance accuracy and safety of image-guided interventions.

2008 Co-winners: 

Satori Arimitsu, Ken Sasaki, Hiroshi Hosaka, Michimasa Itoh, Kenji Ishida, and Akiko Ito, "Seat Belt Vibration as a Stimulating Device for Awakening Drivers," IEEE/ASME Transactions on Mechatronics, Volume 12, Issue 5, Oct. 2007, Pages: 511-518.

for contributing to the implementation and evaluation of mechatronic devices for enhancement of automobile safety

Dan Stoianovici, Alexandru Patriciu, Doru Petrisor, Dumitru Mazilu and  Louis Kavoussi, "A New Type of Motor: Pneumatic Step Motor, " IEEE/ASME Transactions on Mechatronics, Volume 12, Issue 1, Feb. 2007, Pages: 98-106.

for contributing to the theory, design and implementation of a pneumatic step motor suitable for deployment in medical MRI applications


Return to Top